Reviews, get directions and information for Gauteng Division

Gauteng Division


The Gauteng Division of the High Court of South Africa is a superior court of law which has, at present, general jurisdiction over the South African provinces of Gauteng, Mpumalanga and Limpopo, and the eastern part of North West province. The main seat of the division is at Pretoria, while a local seat at Johannesburg has concurrent jurisdiction over the southern parts of Gauteng. Dunstan Mlambo has been the Judge President of the division since 1 November 2012.HistoryA High Court was established for the South African Republic (the Transvaal Republic) in 1877, while the Witwatersrand gold fields were visited by a circuit court subordinate to the High Court. Both courts ceased to exist as a result of the British victory in the Second Anglo-Boer War. In 1902, two superior courts were established for the new Transvaal Colony: the Supreme Court of the Transvaal in Pretoria, and subordinate to it the High Court of Witwatersrand in Johannesburg. On the creation of the Union of South Africa these courts became the Transvaal Provincial Division and the Witwatersrand Local Division, respectively, of the Supreme Court of South Africa.

Address: Pretoria
City: Pretoria
categories: landmark & historical place

related searches: north gauteng division, pretoria, Pretoria High Court Pretoria, High Court, Pretoria contact details, Pretoria High Court judges, Pretoria High Court Address, Gauteng Local Division, Johannesburg, North Gauteng High Court, Pretoria High Court Roll
Comment on this place

Reviews, get directions and information Gauteng Division.

Johannesburg courthouse

opening hours, reviews, map, satellite view. Gauteng Division address, phone, state, city, zip code. On this page you can find companies similar to Gauteng Division. On this website you can share your comments and experiences about Gauteng Division with other people.